Adult Swim “Country Club” Playlist, Also Known As “What’s On Matt’s Ipod”

My girlfriend and I have recently started swimming at the public pool on the weekends.  Since the pool is usually crowded during the afternoons, we decided to go in the early morning when there’s less people there.  The staff refers to this time as “country club hour” as it’s adult swim.  Usually, this consists of us and a bunch of old men.  Most of them don’t actually swim, they just hang out and talk.  To liven the experience, the staff plays old school R&B an soul music.  

Being the big fan of this that I am, I know most of the words to these songs to the surprise of many of the old men.  After Sam Cooke, Otis Redding and James Brown were played my girlfriend pointed out that it was like listening to my Ipod.  Indeed, when I was recently given an Itunes gift card my purchases included The Phil Spector Collection (the best collection of girl groups you can find) and a whole lot of James Brown.  Overall, I paid about $25 for about 70 songs.  

The whole experience at the pool kind of made me wish that I was young when all this music was new.  Of course if that was the case, then at the current moment I might be one of those old men at the pool.  

I just wish they had played the full version of “Papa Was A Rolling Stone” instead of the single edit.  

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Adult Swim “Country Club” Playlist, Also Known As “What’s On Matt’s Ipod”

  1. The Phil Spector box set “Back to Mono(?)” was easily the best $25 I’ve ever spent. Disc 1 is unbeatable. You should also check out “One Kiss Can Lead to Another” another box set dedicated to girl groups/singers. It’s amazing. Comes in a box that’s shaped a hat box, and all the discs have little mirrors in them.

Leave a Reply

