Live on Ten Legs Vs. Bootlegs

So the other morning I woke up and saw that Pearl Jam was one of the top ten most searched items on Yahoo.  Several things to came to mind: did they break up?  Why else would Pearl Jam be on the most searched list on Yahoo?  As it turns out, that did not happen.   Instead, it had to do with a promotional video voiced by Eddie Vedder for their newest live album that came out yesterday.

Live on Ten Legs is a sequel of sorts to their 1998 live album Live on Two Legs. As somebody that likes Pearl Jam, how come I didn’t know about this?  In the early half of the 2000s, I used to be obsessed with obtaining as many of Pearl Jam’s official bootlegs as I could.  Each double-disc set (some shows even contained 3 CDs of Pearl Jam live awesomeness!) had a different setlists, and some songs such as “Porch” could be different from night to night.  Of course the problem with having so many shows available to the public like that is that it can be a crapshoot.  You may end up with a great show overall, but a song such as “Immortality” (one of my favorites) might have botched lyrics for example.

While I don’t listen to Pearl Jam as much as I used to, I still wanted a live collection from newer tours without having to comb through the bullshit.  So once I finally discovered that Pearl Jam had put out a regular live album, I went on Itunes to listen to some samples of the songs and check out the tracklist.  I must say, I was disappointed especially by the selection for the newer songs.  Two of the best rockers off of their latest album 2009’s Backspacer were left off in favor a mid-tempo and slightly boring number.  Suffice to say, I found the tracklist and the performances lackluster.  Maybe I should have gotten one of the bootlegs.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Live on Ten Legs Vs. Bootlegs

  1. Blogged about Pearl Jam today! Check it out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

