This Week’s Theme: Nostalgic Songs of 1994

 

(Note: This post should have come before “Everything Zen” – I thought I had published it and it wasn’t until I put up the post on “Everything Zen” that I realized my mistake.)

1994 is the first year where I really remember listening to the radio, and picking up on current musical trends.  I was 12 going on 13, discovering myself through the radio.  Kurt Cobain may have just killed himself that summer, but that fall the sounds of Weezer, Bush, Green Day, and Live were finding their way to my ears.

Previously I had relied on my siblings musical tastes.  Whatever they listened to, was what I listened to and thought was good.  While I certainly prided myself on my preferences in school, I found out that no one in classes was talking about U2.  “Basket Case” was the rage, and kids sang all the words to Beck’s “Loser” on field-trips.  Coming back from a school musical, the  radio constantly played Beastie Boy’s “Sabotoge” – a song that seemed to come from outer-space on a mission to blow up the speakers and my mind.

Everything on the radio was loud and exciting.  Masturbation was sung frankly in Green Day’s “Longview”, Gavin Rossdale reflected upon his “asshole brother” in Los Angeles.  I was too young to get the joke about “Happy Days” in the video for Weezer’s “Buddy Holly”, but I laughed hysterically about Rivers Cuomo inviting someone to destroy his sweater in “Undone (The Sweater Song)”.  Even R.E.M. (my favorite band at the time) cranked up the amps with “What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?”, declaring “don’t fuck with me” at the end of the song.

Looking back, 1994 really was a good year in music.  It was the era in between grunge and the new-wave ska revival (which was a very strange time in music, I think.)

Even though a lot of these songs aren’t on the same caliber as a lot of other stuff I listen to now, I still enjoy them and they take me back to my 12-13 year old self.  And that’s what this week’s theme is all about.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “This Week’s Theme: Nostalgic Songs of 1994

  1. i always say 1994 was a really, really good year in music, but i wonder if that’s just because that was the year i turned 16.

  2. I wondered if it was because i turned 13, but the songs that were on the radio were really good. Lots of good albums that year. The Blue Album is a classic, Check Your Head came out that year.
    Was that the year of August and Everything After, or was that 1995?

    • august and everything after was actually ’93, but i think it took til ’94 to make it to fredneck…i know i got it for christmas ’94, at any rate.

Leave a Reply

