Active Rock Compilation

This has got to be one of the worst rock collections I’ve ever seen.  I didn’t even know that “active rock” was a category until I saw this little gem earlier.  What does it even mean?  Judging by the list of bands and artists here, I’ve deduced that it mostly means bands who write songs only like Nirvana (soft verse/loud chorus).  With a few exceptions, of course.  

I find this type of music to be the worst form of popular music.  It’s so soul-less, bland, and uninteresting.  (For you fans of The West Wing – I just said “three things that mean the same thing.”)   I’m glad that they put Live on this compilation, because between them and Bush they’re kind of the front-runners of this post-grunge recipe for songs inspiring the likes of Nickleback, Staind, Papa Roach, and Daughtry.  And unfortunately it’s still been alive for some 15 years after both Sixteen Stone, and Throwing Copper. Not for nothing, but Chris Daughtry even played “Ring of Fire” by way of Live’s cover version on American Idol a few years back.  Who knew they would be so influential?

Even the producers of the compilation must realize this, as Live and Bush each have two songs represented.  The third disc is where things really dry up, as they start taking songs from Counting Crows and Sublime.  (Which no matter how I particularly feel about either band they certainly don’t belong on this compilation.)  

Of course then again, as I looked at the track-list, I seriously thought I was looking at a DC101 song-list.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Active Rock Compilation

  1. Nic

    It looks like something designed specifically for the cut out bin at Sound Garden… but what do I know.

Leave a Reply

