Shaun White on Rolling Stone Cover

I suppose I could grumble that Rolling Stone has Shaun White on its cover instead of real musicians.  Rolling Stone has been profiling actors, athletes, and other non-musicians for a long time, so it’s kind of a moot point.  

But here’s where I’m griping – Shaun White is not a rocker.  He’s a snowboarder, and a very good one at that.  So where is he lighting his snowboard on fire like Jimi Hendrix and playing air guitar?

 I haven’t read the article yet but what could be an interesting article about how Shaun White redefined snowboarding for Americans (and the rest of the world) will probably be wasted on paragraphs about his hair, and how he wants to rock out.  And let’s not forget that Shaun White will probably come across as lonely.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Shaun White on Rolling Stone Cover

  1. Nedra Cruz

    Hey Matt–He talked about the cover (and the reasoning behind the imagery) on Leno last night. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdMwFN7vb5s I don’t know if it’s gonna help justify it for you, but I thought I’d share in case you didn’t know. 🙂
    ~Nedra

    • Matt Satterfield

      Thanks Nedra. I suppose what really gets me is the goofy face. I like Shaun White, I’m just wondering how the profile will be. Lately the RS cover stories have been kind of lacking in substance I think – which is odd considering that they’ve had some interesting choices for people on the cover.

Leave a Reply

