Cover Songs That Need To be Retired

I love Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah”.  The Jeff Buckley version is great as well.  But after that, do we really need a version by KD Lang, Rufus Wainwright, Alexandra Burke, Kathryn Williams, Justin Timberlake among dozens of others?  This isn’t even counting the hundreds of jokers doing their own “version” during open-mic night.  

Which other songs should be retired from people covering them? (Note these aren’t songs you hate, just one you hate people performing all the time.)

Here’s mine:

All Tom Petty songs: He’s the patron saint of open-mic.  Enough already.  Discover a new artist.

All Along the Watchtower

Hey Jude

No Woman No Cry

Redemption Song

Knocking on Heaven’s Door

One (U2)

Wild Horses

Piano Man

Crossroads

Cecilia

Rockin’ in the Free World

Old Man

Sweet Caronline

What are your thoughts?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Cover Songs That Need To be Retired

  1. Deirdre

    I Love Rock n Roll
    Forever Young (Alphaville)
    Forever Young (Bob Dylan)
    American Pie
    Big Yellow Taxi

    I like these songs, but they all have horrible covers and I’m tired of hearing several of them.

    Also, We Are The World. Probably makes me a bad person, but there, I said it.

    • Matt Satterfield

      These are all good ones.
      Regarding “We Are the World” – it doesn’t make you a terrible person. I’d like to think people have terrible taste in music if they like the new one. I wrote about it about a couple weeks ago here.

  2. The Other Matt

    I agree with your picks Matt, and yeah I was going to add Big Yellow Taxi too. That Counting Crows version makes me want to rip my ears off.

Leave a Reply

