Halloween Etc


Halloween is great.   As a kid, it’s great, because you get free candy and you’re encouraged to eat candy.  It can’t get any better than that.  Unfortunately, I never had a great costume.  One year I was a ghost, and I don’t remember anything else I was, because I can assure it was never original, or inventive.  

In high school, I didn’t care for Halloween too much.  Maybe I felt like I was too “grown up” for Halloween being high school.  But it was probably more for the fact that I could never think of a good custom.  Why I could never think of a good one, I’m not sure.  Especially since I have a slight obsession with masks – both literal and figuratively.  (Must be the English Major in me.)  

In college, Halloween became cool again.  It was an excuse to have a party.  Can’t get any better than that.  I managed to dress in drag a couple of times.  I’d be able to pull it off a bit better these days, consider I now have long hair.  

While I like a lot of things about Halloween, there’s also a lot of things I don’t like about it.  

Favorite Things About Halloween:

Candy (Even at 27, this is still a big draw.  Especially when it involves Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  I’m a peanut butter fiend.)

Mythology About Halloween.   The History Channel is full of specials on the devil, witches, ghosts, and all kinds of other cool stuff.  These specials also rival the specials on 2012, and all of the specials devoted to anything Dan Brown related.  Almost.  My favorite was a story involving a card game in the Middle Ages.  A bunch of guys were placing bets on Saturday night, close to the Sabbath.  Around midnight a mysterious stranger comes in and they keep on betting past midnight, and at the end the stranger reveals himself to be Satan, and burns them all because they were betting on the Sabbath.  Awesome.

Classic Halloween Specials.  It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown is still the quintessential Halloween special.  When I first saw it, I kept thinking that there might actually be a Great Pumpkin.  Pretty much all of the Simpson’s Tree House of Horror specials are all fantastic.  My personal favorite is the episode where Homer sells his soul for a donut.  

Bad Things About Halloween

Horror Movies.  Okay, I know you’re going to say, ‘Matt you’re no fun’.  It’s true, when comes to horror movies I’m not.  Ridiclious plot lines, bad acting.  Need I say anymore.  I’m not a person who is scared of blood or violence, but today’s horror movies rely too much on unneccessary violence and gore.  Use your imagination people!

And while I’m thinking of Halloween, let’s take at Halloween through the years:

1517 – Martin Luther posts his 95 theses on a church door in Wittenburg, ushering in the Protestant Reformation

1926 – Harry Houdini dies.  

1961 – In the USSR, Stalin’s body is removed from Lenin’s tomb.  

1964 – Bob Dylan plays the Philharmonic Hall.  (Later released as the Bootleg Series Vol. 6.  Contains the famous, “Got my Bob Dylan mask” quote.)

1981 – Harry Potter becomes “the boy who lived” when Voldemort’s killing curse backfires.  (Did I just reveal my inner nerd?)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

